Carrie Underwood Fans

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What do you think is the story behind Someday When I Stop Loving You?

Razz

As a writer I am constantly looking for the motivation behind something that was written or looking for a story behind a song. Someday When I Stop Loving You goes down as one of those top 4 or 5 songs that you can really feel the emotion in the song. When I hear it I feel this deep sense of melancholy, like you know you will never get over this person, you'll never be the same. I will probably always remember this song in my mind. I sing it all the time.

I'm interested to hear other people's take on what goes on in the song. In my mind, it was a really long (or maybe not so long) and strong relationship between two young adults. Carrie says, "One foot on the bus, about half past 9, I knew that you were leaving this time". So in my mind, the woman was the one who did something wrong in this song instead of the man. I imagine she cheated on him or did something along those lines, and they had maybe fought about it for a long time and struggled with multiple issues over a long period of time before he finally decided he was going to leave for good this time.

And then the other line "I remember that night we laid in bed//Naming all our kids that we hadn't had yet//One for your grandma and one for mine// Said we'd draw straws when it came time" To me, their families were obviously very close or maybe their grandmothers had passed away and that was their way of remembering them. Also, they hadn't had kids yet, but did plan on it, so maybe they were in their early 20s.